Uploading a jpeg into Cricut Design space – Converting jpeg into a cut project

How fashionable are Avocado’s at the moment?  I got this gorgeous avocado jpeg from Sanqunetti Design.  This design comes from a great value set called Kawaii Health Food clipart.

kawaii health food

I emailed myself the jpeg of the Avocado so I could try something different and upload the image to Cricut Design Space from my phone.  Uploading from your  phone or tablet to the Cricut Design Space App is a new feature that I had been keen to check out.  I often use my phone when designing something quick in design space, as I can multi-task and use my phone when i’m away from my computer.

Generally when I upload jpegs (rather than SVG’s), I use these images to print and cut.  However, sometimes my print quality isn’t as good as the colors you can get from your good quality cardstocks, so I decided to cut the Avocado layers out of paper.

Firstly, I uploaded the shape from my phone – and saved this as a cut file.  This first piece will be my background (and dark green outer of the Avocado.  I saved this image as a cut file.

 

Next, I uploaded the shape again, but this time removed more of the layers by selecting the “remove” and “erase” tool.  This will be layer 2 (lighter green) of the Avocado.  This was also saved as a cut file, which I named layer 2.

 

After looking at the shapes and colors I decided that I wanted another lighter green/yellow layer of the Avocado, so I made layer 2 slightly smaller to fit inside.

Now for the Avocado seed – I uploaded the jpeg again, this time removing all the other layers of the Avocado, just leaving the seed with the adorable Kawaii face.  I will print and cut this layer.  If you didn’t want the face, and were happy with the seed, you could save this as a cut file, but it is easy to change it to a cut file once uploaded and saved into design space.  You could also draw or a stamp a cut face, or add googly eyes or rhinestone cheeks.  Lots of options here!

 

Now I’m ready to make him!  I added this cute text for my card and tags projects.  The below shows my layers ready to cut.  I kept the shape at 2.75″ tall which is about perfect for cards.

kawaii health food avocado

thumbnail_IMG_8476

 

I hope you like!  thanks so much for reading my post.

AVO GREAT DAY!

Leave a comment